believed in war

A strange property about relationships or existence is how often one is condemned to watch another destroy themselves. I’m sure anyone reading knows a couple of addicts; I mean, many nations are comprised of them to snuff out whatever hurting reality they’re running from. Running from broken relationships, shattered glass and slammed doors. Relief in a needle – who wouldn’t in such situations?

A younger one may protest such things. An older one may be forced to shut off empathy after walking past all the lost and abandoned. Maybe one survives through a couple of cries and then hanging the indifference proudly.

I don’t know. Do you believe in war?

Can you talk it out? When can you no longer? What’s the boundary?

What are boundaries? I think they’re mostly blurred with how electronically close everyone can be.

Maybe it’s due to some deficiency, but I’ve never been successful. I’ve only caused more tears or pain in the long run.

When do you give up on others? When do others give up on you?

It seems altogether more beneficial to avoid such questions by not opening the forum to begin with. Close the doors, drown in the artificial oxytocin. Bottom the amber bottle! Embracing loneliness comes with a benefit of no surprises.

So, what’ll you do? Will you go to war again?

Unfortunately it’s all too likely for you to run into someone who’s destroying themselves, but it’s not like you have the answers to make them stop. Maybe only through their destruction will they garner something of worth.

As of now, I don’t believe in war. But maybe that’s more of an indication of how inept I am. Instead of learning how to play strings on others. In due time maybe such banjo playing would be beneficial, but I’m already grappling with the deluded humanity one loses by disengaging. I’m not sure if I can be that Machiavellian. Those above me are, though.

Baby steps! Choose your battles, I guess.