home

Blocking Doesn't Work

At any moment I can open a new tab and go visit whatever and waste a lot of time. And I’ve done it all last week shamefully.

Despite all of the add-ons, despite setting up my hosts file and whatever else, I still would go visit places and then feel downtrodden.

Blocking doesn’t work.

You will find a way out of it. And you will feel like you’re .missing out. and you won’t get far. It’ll cave in eventually.

The weeks where I was successful, thus far, wasn’t due to my add-ons. It was due to no longer seeing it as a valuable use of time.

It’s when you deeply contemplate and realize, no, it’s not missing out. You aren’t depriving yourself, you’re liberating yourself. When I see it this way, it is quite easy to not go on any site online. When I forget it, it just happens again.

So whenever I do a “little peek” it means forgetting that premise: why would I want a peek if I genuinely, deep in my heart, find it a waste of time? To be clear, it is comparable to stubbing your toe in the wall, but you enjoy the adrenaline rush for the first ten seconds and then endure 24 hours of pain. When you remember the 24 hours of pain, there’s no way you would ever willingly stub your toe. But when you focus on the first ten seconds of “this is the rush I need” then you will feel deprived.

Only by fixating on those first ten seconds could I want to check out whatever websites I enjoy stubbing my toes on. Only by ignoring the 24 hours of pain can I begin a “little peek” as horrible as it all is.

It’s your choice, and you can frame it how you want. But only through framing will you ever be successful, in any venture you do.

I refuse to stub my toes any longer.