home

Dare to Dream

Now I finally get why everyone loses their spirit as they grow older. It’s because they dismissed the seemingly asinine advice, “Dare to Dream!”

They instead let everyone else do the dreaming for them and wonder why they aren’t alive anymore.

If you’re hooked in early enough, you just don’t know how to dream anymore. A rendition is the same on the stage or in your head. Listening to music replaces your own. Watching shows replace your own. Renditions galore and so reality bleeds through your internals until it controls. People chide seeking originality, but do you want to be a copy-cat too? Innovation is just fine, but what if the whole structure feels crude?

DARE to dream. DARE to think of something different. DARE to reject every single conception of living thus far and dream up a new life. DARE to take the ordinary to its glory. DARE to be ALIVE. The Roman peasant didn’t consider their day to be anything more than what we consider ours to be. Why not?

I DARE you to state something out of tune. And I DARE you to dream up something new. I DARE to do the same, and that I will. I’ve already DARED to state that all you need is imagination, and so I’ll follow through.

As I flip through my memories I’ve a hard time distinguishing between truth and fiction. What really did go on? When I rewind to play a memory it feels ethereal. And when I summon the scene it feels a bit blurry and wispy with the same quality as any dream. So much so that I’ve begun to suspect everything that happened in all of my life was a result of my imagination.

Is this the basis of mental illness? I DARE to deny that and state it is the solution to mental illness. Because MENTAL ILLNESS is the label we accept when one yields to authority, to let your experience to defined by someone else. To let yourself contort into the slots of mental illness book outlines and then act in a way that keeps you slotted and tagged.

I’m not daring much here, but I am just stating how I no longer need reality to conform to my imagination; instead my imagination lives on its own and reality molds around it. That whatever I’m seeking is in my head.

I’m just daring to dream :-)