home

funny daze

Almost any youngster today probably has a perpetual group chat going. What am I doing over here, purposely distancing myself from Discord voice chats or whatever else?

I’ve referenced this through out other writings, but let’s hone in on Discord specifically as that is the platform many spend their time on. It is the way to keep up with friends, coordinate or just shoot whatever.

So why leave?

Because it’s full of delusions. Sure, you get to hear these voices, feels pretty real, and it can be a good way to pass the time, but don’t get it twisted: these people are not your friends. If you stop showing up – yes, even with old friends from school – if you stop showing up, you got nothing and no bonds to resuscitate. You are replaceable. They probably don’t even have a way to reach out to you.

This may be Human Relations 101, but it was said to build up to something more: these people do not improve your life. You don’t have to believe me if you want to continue your delusions. Feel free. When you go another five years, you’ll understand then.

As much as I writhe here, fully embracing this needed isolation however pitied, well, at least I don’t have a Discord.