home

glitch.com

Recently I stumbled upon glitch.com which I suppose you could call a ‘competitor’ to neocities.

What’s interesting about it though is that you have access to a mini server for every ‘glitch’ you create. You can host a fullstack application on there. Not just static. A mini-server, for free. (It’s probably kubernetes).

I did some proof-of-concept work to see if I could load another programming language on one of the servers, and got it loaded. It took forever though to compile. I tried installing it first through source, but then it requires having another implementation on hand, and you’re already pretty restricted on the container. So then I tried the linux package, but you have to install an old version due to the image glitch uses, Ubuntu 16.04LTS. The latest package just exits due to deprecated libraries. Finally I used a separate version manager, and although it took a solid ten minutes to get up and running, I did it. So this seems like a perfect opportunity to host obscure language nonsenses.

Sure, the server has pretty bad specs, but that’s half the thrill.

Another cool feature of glitch is that you can write up a site with other people. It’s called teams. Which is an exciting idea, to churn out sites for whoever, collaborating with others on making cool stuff. It’s unlikely to actually happen though because what are you going to make with others exactly? Still, it’s a fond thought.