Indulgence

Indulgence

Using imageboards requires a cognitive dissonance or an ability to stay in the present, not think of consequences. But when you analyze the “transaction” it’s just not worth it.

A lot of transactions aren’t worth it.

Why are you still here then?

I’ve not found a solution to my “problem” or even decided it is a problem – a problem with two layers:

  1. Imageboards feel less like an indulgence, almost a penance for my breaks, as anything sincerely indulgent I can’t find the peace of mind to enjoy without thinking, “I ought to be working instead.” News sites and forums fall under this category too, it’s not just imageboards

  2. The paranoia that traces majority of my interactions doesn’t magically go away; the delight in posting and disappearing I relish in (even though I know it renders disgust in anyone who bothers to read this, as I’ve previously deleted posts and caused anger, which I am thankful for, as it encourages me to use imageboards less)

What is the “transaction” worth seeking? Well, after writing this out, the obvious answer is to alleviate the anxiety of not working, and only then enjoy actually indulgent things.

Imageboard use is a form of settling, I suppose.

Maybe I wrote all of this as a prompt for suggestions. What should I do with my codeberg account?