Open Source Merits

Opensourcing merits

There are a few egregious steps between developing something and making it live. So much so that entire careers are siphoned into either spectrum, rarely unified, and perhaps why there aren’t many “indie” apps online without some profit incentive lying underneath.

Hosting to host for a host is rarely practical, and requires a good bit of knowledge.

With that in mind, I fortunately have the ability to fully deploy what I plan to do, with the particular language I plan to do with. There are two present issues, though, which I’ll write now.

So that’s the current decision tree. Do I move away from Codeberg, or do I stay on Codeberg, and if I stay on Codeberg, how do I plan to set up my deployment?

So I wonder, what’s the merit of open sourcing this app anyway?

I don’t think I’ll get any drive-by contributions. And it’s not like anyone is going to sponsor me for my work here. And I don’t think there’ll be any “instances” of any sort either.

So what’s the point in open-sourcing it?

Alas, I will give into convenience, as the Open Source bug hasn’t bitten me to such an extent, and I doubt anyone would use this software other than myself.