home

Poisons

There’s a lot of poison, all around you, all the time, and ingested casually without much comment.

The most obvious one is alcohol. No need to extrapolate there. But there are other ones too, a little more hidden, a little more out of view. Sugar, for example, is what everyone knows as something addictive, and it messes you up too. Carbs in general, too, puts constant load on your body — people wonder why the mortality rate was abysmal for a good chunk of history, and we could definitely attribute it to medical practices, but having your sustenance be predominantly bread is a big factor too. It’s just not nutritious. Convenient, but not nutritious.

There are some unconventional poisons too, poisons in my view, maybe not yours. Take cheese for example. That stuff is addictive, and we don’t really talk about it, but cheese bloats you up, keeps you hooked — I mean, come on, this stuff comes from stuff built for baby calves. These hormones aren’t meant for us. It’s meant for a baby cow. Think about that. And think about the meat industry, and what those animals eat, and the life they live, and the fear that is melded into you with every bite — of course, only if you think that cells have their own memory (which I believe).

There are even more hidden facts, like car fumes, which we don’t think about since we have little control over it. But it’s there in our air and we’re ingesting it. Poor ventilation is something I’m still figuring out.

Poisons surround us, all the time, and the strangest thing is that it’s normal. You want to take a drink to have a better time. Eat some cheese because that’s what’s on the menu, deep-fried to double the damage. Got a cigarette too, something like that. It’s absurd, it’s real absurd. And I’m not even talking about MIND poisons. That stuff is lethal; I mean, look at this site to see what happens when you let your mind bathe in nonsense for however many years.

And it’s terrifying really — well, because what are you going to do when you just give all that up? What are you going to do?

Right now, in my hermit state, I mean, I don’t do any of the above. I avoid cheese when I can, grains too, alcohol definitely and sugar too. Abstaining from meat after awhile just “felt right” as well. Yet once you remove all of that, you remove a lot of finger food, you remove a lot of social lubricant, you make yourself rather difficult, I don’t know.

I’m not sure what to do about it. But I thought I’d point it all out at least. Maybe I turn into a person I hate and avoid it all. It’s hard to say. It’s just every time I indulge in cheese, grains, alcohol, even meat, I just feel horrible after. Although I use the word “indulge” it doesn’t ring true anymore. Maybe for a split second, a small high, and then a crushing blow to reality comes after. It’s not fun. And it sucks feeling that way because I remember when I didn’t think three cents at all about it. It even sounds like crazy talk really. Who cares?

So that’s the question. Here are all of these poisons, and people indulge in them daily around you. What do you even do?

I have no idea. Do you bend your principles, have a beer once in a while with some cheese curds? Is that what it takes to maintain some good relationships? What do straight-laced folk do anyway?

I’m at a loss. I don’t know how serious to take it. But if I ever learned anything, I know that once you start bending your principles, they’re no longer principles. When you start bending you also bend your reasons behind them, you ruin the foundation as to why they exist. To allow yourself to have some poison, on some occasion, without clearcut reason as to why, well, there you go, you just lost the whole credibility behind your actions. What are you even doing anymore?

It just sucks really. When I started to abstain from all of this stuff it just sucks, it’s hard, it’s not fun, I didn’t want to become this outcast or make people feel bad just being around me. It sucks really. I don’t know what to do about it. Right now I wonder what it means to bend your principles. I’m almost 70% sure I’ll probably keep to my guns and not do any of the above. It’s just hard to say no and be a debbie downer. You just feel like you’re being difficult, a nuisance.

Because the whole reason you get poison in you is to forget about it all. And the last thing you would ever want in your company is someone there to remind you, when you have absolutely no intention in changing, and that’s fine. A lot of people don’t want to change, and what can I say, can I blame them? It’s a little jarring to go from eating out to having salads everyday. It is. It’s a weird twist of knives. You effectively shut yourself off to 80% of recreational activities people do. Or rather you dial down 80% since you can’t carelessly imbibe or order whatever sounds the most ludicrous on the menu.

But I was tired of feeling so horrible and so I fixed it but it comes with a strange alienation (that’s probably self-imposed yet nevertheless). It’s hard to stay sober in a poisoned world.

If you ever do wonder why you feel miserable for little reason, do look at the poisons in your life. I’ll inline the asterisk here and say it’ll be hard, but I think also worth it. Which is funny to say, isn’t it?

.It’s worth not being poisoned. — how about that?