powertripping

which of the seven sins do you think is most addicting? Here’s a convenient list to ponder:

I guess it varies with each person. You know why Pride is the worst sin of all?

It’s because it is the root of all of the other sins. It is the folly of one’s pride (little decision matrix) which surmises that indulging in the above sins is a good idea.

Pride is the most devilish, isn’t it!

And that’s the tragedy: the inability to see the failures of the above actions. Why they’re wrong on a fundamental level. That they’re objectively wrong and yet I still fall for them to this day because of my Pride.

Amusingly enough, my worst sin, Sloth, was also difficult for me to discern why exactly it is bad. Reading through the wikipedia article, it describes me to a T: most things are not worth the effort. I guess in sloth one loses the ability to reach higher states/love. As long as you plan to stick around, it’ll leave you stuck and riddled with regrets I suppose.

It was hard for me to define because I am not sure what goals are worth having and what to aim for. I know that, without goals, man will be miserable. Maybe a tragedy of sloth is that it closes out potential realities as simply impossible.

We ought to define what are we sinning against: it is the chalice of life. If you wish to live to the fullest then engaging in the above sins will achieve the opposite effect: you will instead live in despair.

Maybe I am too used to the pain of being a Sloth that it is hard to imagine the alternative life. I see most achievements and accolades as tricks to spend your energy incorrectly.

What’s your worst sin?

I guess the trick to get rid of Sloth is to accept that you can rest all you want when death comes.