Fork in the Road

Fork in the Road

I keep trying to find a redeemable path in using imageboards.

Maybe it’s alright to slack off a bit. Or is it?

Sometimes slacking off translates into not clearing up what you want to do, and so we settle for what’s comfortable.

Well, I think I’m tired of saying goodbye for one. It wouldn’t be such a big deal if there was something to look forward to on my own. But what if you look forward to all these opportunities which ultimately result in little? This is my form of social interaction, but I don’t think I can call it that anymore. It’s just bargaining.

And that’s just how relations work when you get older. If you’re not in the same lane you can keep the radios on but eventually the channel changes and so do you. It’s not a surprise at all; what’s the purpose of talking if you aren’t actually in each other’s lives? It doesn’t make sense. And you know that going in, but it’s easy to forget.

When I realistically evaluate the possibility of doing anything beyond exchanging some lightly-fried conversation with whoever does happen to browse the same place…

It’s not even about doing something more. It’s not about being productive. You don’t have to make anything or do anything.

I think I’m just tired of doing the lukewarm something, where imageboards reside.

On the plus side, the urge to go on imageboards is waning. So since current-state imageboards are a no-go, now what?

I don’t think you can “innovate” imageboards since their primary user requirement, anonymity, is what causes the consequences. It wouldn’t be an imageboard anymore. Still, the uncomfortable truth is that Anonymity, after wearing it long enough (at least the Imageboard Variety), doesn’t do any favors for you in the long run. The type of Anonymity that imageboards give at least. You can stay anonymous in the real world, while experiencing so much more. Growing. Learning. It’s my fault for being so passive, basically.

And maintaining this new codeberg account does increase that feeling of fragmentation/neurosis. But hey, there are “roles” in a society, and maybe I could see this one as a role. A role for what, who’s to say.

A fork in the road. What’s next! I don’t know. But that’s half the fun, isn’t it?

I just want to have my own life, and so I’ll go about building it. Maybe that’ll snapback into something for imageboards, maybe not. I do have to give them credit for introducing me to my neurosis :-).