home

Hope to remember

Gave some thought why I write these posts out. Why bother?

Although I could list off some noble causes, raise awareness, hope to save someone else from the brutal lessons one incurs… it’s not any of that. Likewise I could delegate all of this to narcissistic sub-routines hoping to beef up my small isle of existence before it is swallowed whole. If I poke deep inside I could find some lust for that, but right here, really, I don’t want exaltation, sincerely. If I’m going to smack a label “REASON” on anything, it’d be a hope to remember it.

To remember it and imprint it. Make it a daily occurrence, keep it top of mind, note its effects. Because you can have the most well formatted document - I mean, there are some people out there who push tons of paper, make excellent slides, clarify every question in an email thread, whatever. Whatever! Whatever. You don’t need me to say what worth it all is. Writing isn’t enough.

It’s remembrance. How valuable time is, or centering your control, or knowing your hearth, how you tick and changing that tick — and let’s not forget how we’re all melting away, that within such candle drips you may burn the wrong wicks.

That amongst all of the cruelty in the world, you can still strive for something, whatever makes you smile alone. If you’re courageous enough, maybe share that smile with others.

You can write as much as you like. But that’s just one cohesive thought form against the millions we have every month. It’s going to die out. It’s going to get filled with the tar that lines the streets, exhaust fumes and digitized advertisement complex catch tunes. It’ll corrode who you are, if you are. So even as I fall again and again into our psychological warfare that defines every waking second — just to REMEMBER how one must reevaluate after every fall; to dust the bloodied crumbs off, note the sear and keep it a close memory. That’ll save you. It’ll remind you that you’re still here and you’re living whether you want to or not. You’re up to something.

Catch the whale. You’re going to be swallowed soon enough.